About Field Experience

Field experiences are a vital part of teacher education preparation programs. The Pennsylvania Department of Education requires P4 certified teachers to complete specified hours related to four different types of field placements:

  • Stage 1 (observation);
  • Stage 2 (exploration);
  • Stage 3 (pre-student teaching); and
  • Stage 4 (student teaching).

Each stage allows the candidate to develop knowledge and skills through observations and hands-on experiences under the close guidance of a mentor teacher.




Field Experience on Site

Field Experience Location